Site Statistics
 
Threads: 4,003
Posts: 17,496
Members: 2,984
Users Online: 12
Newest Member: delon23


Go Back   PC101 > Computer Related Forums > PC Security

PC Security A place to discuss new threats, firewalls, virus scanners, and all other aspects of keeping your computer secure from threats. Learn how to stop spyware... hackers ... identity thieves... and more!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2006, 01:38 AM   #1
Freshman
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0 TechieNoob is on a distinguished road
MSBlast Worm

Hey everyone. I wanted to pass this on to you guys. If you're wondering what it is, it's a CNET article on how a worm is being spread through the German edition of Wilkpedia.

http://news.com.com/Wikipedia+used+t....html?tag=xtra
TechieNoob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 11:52 AM   #2
Junior
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 176
Rep Power: 3 eeeboy is on a distinguished road
I see...

Kind of same thing happened to me once ...

that days I was addicted to attacking stuffs , was downloading some trojan bot source code like rbot,rxbot,agobot etc. All were sourcecode but rxbot was exe file , I though that was a self extractory zip file. But I was wrong. That made me a zombie.

anyway , wikipedia is somethign different. All trust them.They should be careful about that.
eeeboy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 07:06 PM   #3
Freshman
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Rep Power: 0 LearnMeTechie is on a distinguished road
Yes, I read about that. It was not wikipedia itself that was spreading the virus. There was a link on the page which took you away from the site and it started the download of the virus from there.
LearnMeTechie is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 03:51 PM   #4
Freshman
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Rep Power: 0 lady is on a distinguished road
That is so scary to know that can happen just from simply going onto a website that you wouldn't think would have something like that on it. I hope that Wikipedia has done a disclaimer to its user making them aware that this could possibly happen. And I hope they have located the website and successfully removed them from their site.

That is very sad.
lady is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 05:15 PM   #5
Freshman
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 25
Rep Power: 0 sbcal is on a distinguished road
I read about that too, I am really not surprise since anyone can edit a Wilkpedia site. Links get added here and there, and by the time, it is detected, it may have spread thousands of times over. This is why to always have your anti-virus up-to-date on your system.
sbcal is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball drops on 'Happy New Year!' worm Lyte PC Security 0 12-31-2006 10:18 AM
Microsoft on worm watch Lyte PC & Tech Related News, Events and More! 0 08-15-2006 08:51 PM
New Internet worm targeting Windows aleeonline PC Security 0 04-17-2006 02:52 PM
Windows WOrm Expected SOON aleeonline PC Security 0 04-17-2006 02:49 PM
Sober Worm Attack Set for January 6 Lyte PC Security 2 12-26-2005 04:53 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5